Pudding Cake

I often find myself searching for eggless baking recipes, not because I can’t or don’t eat eggs but because I can’t be bothered to go out to get eggs. On this particular day we were planning to celebrate a friend’s birthday and I hoped for a great dessert idea that didn’t require me to leave the house. That’s when I found this Brownie Pudding recipe.

My love of pudding cake comes from my father, who taught me that Sauce n’ Cake┬áis the most delicious and magical dessert one can prepare from a box. My only attempt to make it from scratch had resulted in a dry cake with a serious lack of pudding. So of course I decided to go ahead with this recipe, and to bake it while my guest was here.

This recipe was so easy to make, and perfect for entertaining. I prepared all the dry ingredients ahead of time, so the most time consuming part of assembly was waiting for the kettle to boil. For the topping, I only had 1/2 cup brown sugar so I substituted 1/4 cup white sugar. I baked it in an 8″ round Corningware since I don’t have an 8″ x 8″ pan. After about half an hour the apartment filled with a delicious chocolate smell and we eagerly anticipated eating the finished product.

It was perfect. So perfect that I forgot to take any pictures before it was gone. The cake was rich and moist, and there was more than enough pudding for each piece, despite quite a few spoonfuls stolen out of the pan. As we ate it we reminisced about the boxed cake mixes of our childhoods, and agreed that lemon was the best flavour. I’ve already chosen a recipe.

3 thoughts on “Pudding Cake

  1. Hi – I realize that this is an old post – just came across it when trying to find any Sauce’n Cake (chocolate) left since I just found out it was discontinued. Going to try to make it from scratch!

Leave a Reply

